Support Groups for the Japan Earthquake and Tsunami

On Friday, March 11th Japan experienced their largest earthquake on record with a subsequent destructive tsunami to follow. The Japanese community here in Chicago and the near suburbs, although a half-world away, share the pain that their family and friends have experienced over this overwhelming disaster. Because of this, Japanese speaking counselors across the Chicagoland area have come together to offer support groups across the area.

The focus of the group is to offer a safe place for people to express their fear, frustration, anger and helplessness that has followed this tragic event. Our goal is that each individual will regain the sense of safety and peace of mind through this support group. The group will be offered for 4 to 6 weeks and will be conducted in Japanese. Please call ahead to reserve your spot.

Chicago Area


Chicago School of Professional Psych
325 North Wells.
Chicago, IL 60654
(312) 410-8953
Sayaka Machizawa, Psy. D
Smachizawa@thechicagoschool.edu
Wednesdays starting March 23-April 27, 5pm-6pm

Adler School of Professional Psych
17 North Dearborn St. Suite 1500
Chicago, IL 60602
(312) 662-4219
Mayumi Nakamura, Psy. D.
MNakamura@adler.edu
Fridays starting March 18-April 29, 5pm-6pm

Japanese American Service Committee
4427 N. Clark St.
Chicago, IL 60640
(773) 275-7212 X 243
Kaori Miyazawa Liebler, LCSW
Counsel2@jasc-chicago.org
Tuesdays starting March 22-April 26, 5:30pm-6:30pm

OakPark, River Forest Area

6601 West North Ave.
Oak Park, IL 60302
(708) 415-7513
Shiraishi.y@gmail.com
Yukiko Shiraishi, Psy. D.
Wednesdays starting March 16-April 27, 5pm-6pm

Schaumburg, Arlington Heights Area

Mindful Professional Counseling

1900 East Golf Road, Suite 950
Schaumburg, IL 60173
(847) 899-3329
Asako Hoichi, LCPC
Miki Maeda, Psy. D.
Asakohoichi@mindfulprofessionalcounseling.com
Advancedbehavioral@msn.com
Thursdays starting Mar 17-Apr 28, 10:30-11:30am
Saturdays starting Mar-26-Apr30, 3pm-4pm

Wheaton, Naperville Area

Meier Clinics
2100 Manchester Road, Suite 1510
Wheaton, IL 60187
(630) 653-1717 Ext 239
Eiko Venovic, Psy. D.
EVenovic@meierclinics.com
Saturdays starting March19-April 30, 1pm-2pm

Evanston, Wilmette Area

Family Institute at Northwestern University
618 Library Place
Evanston, IL 60201
(847) 733-4300 Ext 1235
Kenichi Shimokawa, Ph. D.
KShimokawa@family-institute.org
Thursdays starting Mar 24-April 28 1pm-2pm
Fridays starting Mar 25-April 29 6pm-7pm